sharing authorization to reinitialize a database

Dave Matthews matthews at GREENGENES.CIT.CORNELL.EDU
Thu Jun 29 17:32:03 EST 1995


Any user listed in passwd.wrm has write-access on the database, but not
necessarily initialize-access.  Deleting database/ACEDB.wrm and restarting
the database may give (in ace 3-0) the error message

  !! FATAL ERROR 0: !! Sorry, the database seems empty.  Only the person
  owning the $(ACEDB) directory can reinitialise it.

This message isn't exactly accurate.  To share initialize-access with another
user, the actual requirement is to give him write-access on the file
wspec/passwd.wrm.  For example if the permissions are

  -rw-rw-r--  1 acedb    ace           836 Jun 29 17:42 passwd.wrm

, all members of group 'ace' will have initialize-access.


The same thing is true in ace v4_0b4, but the error message is corrected.


- Dave Matthews




More information about the Acedb mailing list