IUBio Biosequences .. Software .. Molbio soft .. Network News .. FTP

National Medal of Technology Winners

Charles S. Gasser csgasser at ucdavis.edu
Fri Dec 11 20:14:42 EST 1998

Plant Scientists get a big award!

Wed 09 Dec 1998
Knight-Ridder Tribune
By Robert Steyer
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Four Monsanto Co. scientists have won the National Medal of Technology, an
award established by Congress in 1980 to honor innovation.
The Monsanto team won the award for its work in developing and
commercializing genetically engineered crops. The team was among
five winners announced Tuesday by the White House.
Members of the Monsanto team are:
-- Robert T. Fraley, co-president of the company's agricultural sector.
-- Robert B. Horsch, co-president of the sustainable development sector.
-- Stephen Rogers, director of biotechnology projects at
Monsanto's European Center for Crop Research in Brussels, Belgium.
-- Ernest Jaworski, retired director of the company's biological sciences
"Their efforts have created jobs and better goods and services," said
William M. Daley, the U.S. Commerce Secretary, in announcing the
technology medal winners. "By honoring them, we inspire future generations
to stand upon their shoulders and create the technologies that will drive
tomorrow's economy."

Chuck Gasser <csgasser at ucdavis.edu>
Section of Molecular and Cellular Biology
University of California
1 Shields Ave.
Davis, CA  95616

More information about the Arab-gen mailing list

Send comments to us at biosci-help [At] net.bio.net