NAASC election nominations

Naasc Election naasc_election at
Sun Mar 21 16:59:40 EST 2004

Dear North American Arabidopsis Researchers,

At a meeting held in conjunction with the 2003 Arabidopsis Conference, the
NAASC amended its election process in the following ways:
1. Members will now serve for four full calendar years; to accommodate this
change, there will be an election this year, but none of the current members
will rotate off the committee.
2. Members of the North American Arabidopsis research community who have
previously served on the NAASC may be nominated, and if elected, may serve
on the committee again.

We are soliciting nominations for the election of two new members to the
North American Arabidopsis Steering Committee (NAASC).  Continuing members
are Bonnie Bartel and Eric Richards, who are completing their third years,
Greg Copenhaver and Brenda Winkel, who are completing their second years,
and Philip Benfey and Rob McClung, who were elected last year.

Information about the roles and history of the NAASC can be found at:

Any North American reader of the Arabidopsis newsgroup
(arab-gen at, may
nominate a candidate for the NAASC.  This year, we request that nominations
be made on or before April 15, 2004.

To nominate one or more candidates, you can reply to this message, or send
an email to naasc_election at with the words "NAASC
Nominations" somewhere in the subject line. Nominees will be contacted by
the NAASC to ensure that they are willing to serve if elected. A ballot of
such nominees will be sent out via the newsgroup as soon as this is
accomplished and all readers of the newsgroup may vote. The two candidates
obtaining the most votes will become the new members of the NAASC.

Thank you all in advance for your prompt nominations!


NAASC (Bonnie Bartel, Eric Richards, Greg Copenhaver, Brenda Winkel, Philip
Benfey, and Rob McClung)

More information about the Arab-gen mailing list