[Arabidopsis] Deadline Friday! NAASC nominations

Joanna Friesner jdfriesner at stanford.edu
Mon Mar 27 11:24:40 EST 2006

Please send in your nominations for the North American Arabidopsis Steering


*Deadline: March 31st!!*




We are soliciting nominations for the election of two new members to the
North American Arabidopsis Steering Committee (NAASC).  Members serve for
four full calendar years, beginning around the date of the Annual
International Conference on Arabidopsis Research, and rotating off following
the Conference held in their fourth year of service.




Originally established in 1992 in response to the need for elected North
American representatives to the Multinational Arabidopsis Steering
Committee, NAASC has evolved into the main organizing and fundraising body
for the International Conference on Arabidopsis Research when it is held in
North America. The NAASC also helps ensure solicitation and choice of the
conference site for every third meeting, which is held outside of North
America. Additionally, the NAASC serves as a liaison between members of the
community and government and not-for-profit granting agencies and provides
representation of the community to service facilities such as ABRC and TAIR.





More information about the roles and history of the NAASC can be found at:




Members of the North American Arabidopsis research community who have
previously served on the NAASC may be nominated, and if elected, may serve
on the committee again. Any North American reader of the Arabidopsis
newsgroup (arab-gen at net.bio.net) may nominate a candidate for the NAASC.
Nominations should be made on or before March 31, 2006.




To nominate one or more candidates DO NOT reply to this message. Instead you
MUST send an email with the name(s) and institution(s) to
naasc_nominations at acoma.stanford.edu.  Nominees will be contacted by the
NAASC to ensure that they are willing to serve if elected. A ballot of such
nominees will be sent out via the newsgroup as soon as this is accomplished
and all readers of the newsgroup may vote. The two candidates obtaining the
most votes will become the new members of the NAASC.




Thank you all in advance for your nominations to this essential Arabidopsis
organizing body!










(Brenda Winkel-Shirley, Virginia Tech


Greg Copenhaver, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill 


Philip Benfey, Duke University


Rob McClung, Dartmouth College


Judith Bender, Johns Hopkins University 


Xing-Wang Deng, Yale University


Xue Mei Chen, University of California, Riverside


Joe Kieber, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)




More information about the Arab-gen mailing list