IUBio Biosequences .. Software .. Molbio soft .. Network News .. FTP

[Arabidopsis] Nominate NAASC representatives for 2008

Joanna Friesner via arab-gen%40net.bio.net (by jdfriesner from ucdavis.edu)
Thu Jan 31 15:41:41 EST 2008

Dear North American Arabidopsis Researchers,


As in previous years, we will soon solicit nominations for the election of
two new members to the North American Arabidopsis Steering Committee
(NAASC). Committee members are YOUR representatives for relevant Arabidopsis
issues in North America. 


In order to nominate and/or vote for the new NAASCers you must first
register with TAIR. Please register if you have not already:


NAASC officers currently are (listed in order of most to least seniority):

Xing Wang Deng (Yale University, MASC chair), Judith Bender (Brown
University), Joe Kieber (UNC-Chapel Hill, MASC co-chair, ICAR 2008
co-organizer), Xuemei Chen (UC Riverside, ICAR 2008 co-organizer), Julian
Schroeder (UC San Diego, ICAR 2008 fund-raiser), Caren Chang (Univ. of
Maryland, ICAR 2008 fund-raiser), George Haughn (Univ. of British Columbia,
ICAR 2008 fund-raiser), and Scott Poethig (Univ. of PA-Philadelphia).


Without the efforts of the NAASC, the Arabidopsis Conference and funding for
young scientists, including underrepresented minorities, would be
jeopardized. Service on the NAASC is important to the community and highly
appreciated. We need to replace 2 members who rotate off this year and we
need community members to first nominate good Arabidopsis community
candidates and then vote for those who agree to stand.


One example of the importance of the NAASC to the community is the effort
they've spent over the last few months working on aspects of the 19th
International Conference on Arabidopsis Research (July 23-27, Montreal,
Canada), including developing the scientific program, writing grant
proposals to provide funding to help community members attend the meeting,
and soliciting sponsorship. NAASC members will review and select the
awardees of conference funding. The NAASC also participates in the
Multinational Arabidopsis Steering Committee to communicate with Arabidopsis
researchers around the world and funding bodies such as the NSF. Currently,
NAASC members are both chair and co-chair of the MASC. 



-An email asking for nominations will be sent to *registered North American
TAIR members* on or around February 29, 2008.

-The nomination deadline is March 31, 2008. Once nominees are contacted and
their willingness to stand for election is verified, a second email will be
sent asking members to vote for up to 2 names on the list (via a secure

-The voting deadline is May 5, 2008.

-The top 2 candidates will be contacted and their willingness to serve
confirmed. Winners will be announced around the end of May.


About serving on NAASC:

Members serve for four full calendar years, beginning around the date of the
Annual International Conference on Arabidopsis Research, and rotating off
following the Conference held in their fourth year of service.

- Originally established in 1992 in response to the need for elected North
American representatives to the Multinational Arabidopsis Steering
Committee, NAASC has evolved into the main organizing and fundraising body
for the International Conference on Arabidopsis Research when it is held in
North America. 

- The NAASC also helps ensure solicitation and choice of the conference site
for meetings held outside of North America. The NAASC solicits funds to help
North American junior scientists travel to these international meetings.
Additionally, the NAASC serves as a liaison between members of the community
and government and not-for-profit granting agencies and provides
representation of the community to service facilities such as ABRC and TAIR.


More information about the roles, history, and past members of the NAASC can
be found at:


Best regards,

Joanna Friesner

MASC Coordinator

jdfriesner from ucdavis.edu




More information about the Arab-gen mailing list

Send comments to us at biosci-help [At] net.bio.net