IUBio Biosequences .. Software .. Molbio soft .. Network News .. FTP

[Arabidopsis] NAASC election participation

Joanna Friesner via arab-gen%40net.bio.net (by jdfriesner from ucdavis.edu)
Tue Feb 3 11:35:08 EST 2009

Dear North American Arabidopsis Researchers,

We are requesting your participation in nominating two new members of the
North American Arabidopsis Steering Committee (NAASC).
To participate, first register with TAIR (if you haven’t already):
(Forgot if you are registered with TAIR? Go to
http://www.arabidopsis.org/servlets/Community?action=remind, type in your
last and/or first name, hit search. Choose your name from the list and
log-in to verify your current email address on file. You can have also your
information emailed to you, or register as a new user.)

Election Procedure:
-An email asking for nominations will be sent to registered North American
TAIR members on or around February 16, 2009. 
-The nomination deadline is March 17, 2009. Once nominees are confirmed an
email will be sent on 4/1/2009 asking you to vote for up to 2 names on the
nomination list (via a secure TAIR webpage). 
-The voting deadline is May 1, 2009.
-The top 2 candidates will be contacted and their willingness to serve
confirmed. Winners will be announced around the middle of May.

Without the efforts of the NAASC, organization of the Arabidopsis
Conference and funding to attend the annual Arabidopsis conference for
young scientists and underrepresented minorities would be jeopardized.
NAASC also represents North America to the international community. Service
on the NAASC is important and highly appreciated. Two members that rotate
off NAASC this year need to be replaced and we need community members to
first nominate good Arabidopsis community candidates and then vote for
those who agree to stand.

NAASC officers currently are (listed in order of most to least seniority):
Joe Kieber (UNC-Chapel Hill), Xuemei Chen (UC Riverside), Julian Schroeder
(UC San Diego), Caren Chang (Univ. of Maryland), George Haughn (Univ. of
British Columbia, Scott Poethig (Univ. of PA-Philadelphia), Jane Glazebrook
(University of Minnesota-St. Paul), and Mark Estelle (UC San Diego). Their
service to the community is much appreciated.

About serving on NAASC:
Members serve for four full calendar years, beginning around the date of
the Annual International Conference on Arabidopsis Research, and rotating
off following the Conference held in their fourth year of service.

-Originally established in 1992 in response to the need for elected North
American representatives to the Multinational Arabidopsis Steering
Committee, NAASC has evolved into the main organizing and fundraising body
for the International Conference on Arabidopsis Research when it is held in
North America. 
-The NAASC solicits funds to help North American junior scientists and
minorities travel to these international meetings. Additionally, the NAASC
serves as a liaison between members of the community and government and
not-for-profit granting agencies and provides representation of the
community to service facilities such as ABRC and TAIR. -The NAASC
contributes to the annual progress report on international Arabidopsis
research efforts.

More information about the roles, history, and past members of the NAASC
can be found at:

Best regards,

Joanna Friesner
MASC/NAASC Coordinator
UC Davis

More information about the Arab-gen mailing list

Send comments to us at biosci-help [At] net.bio.net