OMG Special Interest Group for Life Sciences Research

Timothy Slidel slidel at ebi.ac.uk
Wed Aug 20 17:16:43 EST 1997


Please note,

If you would like to subscribe to the Life Sciences Research DSIG
mailing list (as discussed below) you should send an email to
request at omg.org to that effect (do NOT send directly to
lifesciences at omg.org). Your email will be read and acted upon by a
human being rather than an automated list manager.

Many thanks,

Tim Slidel

W. David Benton writes:
 > Report: Life Sciences Research Domain Special Interest Group Organizational 
 > Meeting
 > 
 > Representatives of biotechnology software vendors, pharmaceuticals and 
 > biotechnology companies, and academia interested in promoting component-based 
 > software development in life sciences research met in Philadelphia on 5 and 6 
 > August 1997.  Graham Cameron (EBI) chaired the meeting and Tim Clark (Millenium 
 > Pharmaceuticals) was the recorder.  The attendees (see list below) voted to 
 > apply to the Object Management Group (OMG) for recognition as a Domain Special 
 > Interest Group (DSIG) for Life Sciences Research at the next regular OMG 
 > meeting, to be held in Dublin, Ireland, 22-26 September 1997.  The attendees 
 > also developed and approved the attached statements of mission and goals for 
 > the DSIG and elected as acting DSIG co-chairs: David Benton (SmithKline Beecham
 > , W_David_Benton at sbphrd.com), Nat Goodman (Jackson Laboratory, nat at jax.org), 
 > Eric Neumann (NetGenics, eneumann at netgenics.com), and Tim Slidel (European 
 > Bioinformatics Institute, slidel at ebi.ac.uk).
 > 
 > The Life Sciences Research DSIG plans to hold its first meeting on 22-24 
 > September in conjunction with the OMG meeting at the Davenport Hotel, Dublin.  
 > This meeting is open to all interested members of the life sciences research 
 > software and database community, whether or not they are currently members of 
 > the OMG.  The principal agenda items for the September meeting are: 1) 
 > establishing any necessary bylaws for the SIG, 2) determining a schedule of 
 > future meetings (see below for the schedule of future OMG meetings) and 3) 
 > developing first drafts of a Request for Information (RFI) and a Technology 
 > Roadmap for the SIG.  An RFI is a general request to industry, academia, and 
 > any other interested parties to submit information about a particular 
 > technology area to one of the OMG Task Forces.  The responses to an RFI provide 
 > information required for developing a Technology Roadmap or timetable for 
 > issuance of RFPs or additional RFIs. A Request For Proposal (RFP) is an 
 > explicit request to OMG members to submit proposals for technology evaluation 
 > and technology adoption.  Prior to the September meeting, Nat Goodman will 
 > prepare a strawman RFI and Roadmap.  Comments for inclusion in these documents 
 > should be send directly to Dr. Goodman (nat at jax.org).
 > 
 > For more information about the Object Management Group, CORBA, the OMG 
 > technology adoption process, and the registering for the September OMG meeting, 
 > see http://www.omg.org.  To receive announcments about Life Sciences Research 
 > DSIG activities, subscribe to the SIG's mailing list: lifesciences at omg.org.
 > 
 > ====================================================
 > Life Sciences Research DSIG Mission:
 > 
 > * To improve the quality and utility of software and information systems used 
 > in Life Sciences Research through use of interoperable distributed object 
 > technology.
 > 
 > * To encourage the development of interoperable software tools and services in 
 > Life Sciences Research.
 > 
 > * To use the Object Management Group (OMG) technology adoption process to 
 > standardize interfaces for software tools, services, frameworks, and components 
 > in Life Sciences Research.
 > 
 > * To communicate the requirements of the Life Sciences Research domain to the 
 > Platform Technical Committee.
 > 
 > * To coordinate with OMG Task Forces and Special Interest Groups, and other 
 > standards organizations and information providers to ensure common standards.
 > 
 > ----------------------------------------------
 > Life Sciences Research DSIG Goals:
 > 
 > * To become a DTF at the December 1997 OMG meeting.
 > 
 > * To develop a proposed Request for Information (RFI) and technology road map 
 > by the December 1997 OMG meeting.
 > 
 > * To recruit additional members from the broader Life Sciences Research 
 > community.
 > 
 > * To issue RFIs and Requests for Proposal (RFPs) related to Life Sciences 
 > Research software and information systems based on CORBA technology.
 > 
 > * To evaluate RFI and RFP responses and Requests for Comments (RFCs), for 
 > recommended adoption by the Domain Technical Committee.
 > 
 > * To provide a forum for exchange of experiences in the use of the standards 
 > developed.
 > 
 > ==============================================================
 > Future OMG Meeting Schedule:
 > December 1-5, 1997 East Brunswick, NJ, USA (Hosted by NEC) 
 > February 9 -13, 1998 Salt Lake City, UT, USA (Hosted by Novell, Inc.) 
 > April 1998**  Location TBD, UK (co-hosted by CAI/ICL) 
 > June 1998   Orlando, FL, USA (hosted by OMG) 
 > late July/August 1998 Helsinki, Finland (hosted by Nokia) 
 > October 1998  Seattle, WA, USA (hosted by Boeing) 
 > December 1998  San Francisco, CA, USA (hosted by Oracle) 
 > **Tentative
 > 
 > =====================================================
 > Life Sciences Research DSIG Organizational Meeting Attendees:
 > David Benton SmithKline Beecham  W_David_Benton at sbphrd.com
 > Howard Bilofsky SmithKline Beecham  Howard_S_Bilofsky at sbphrd.com
 > Joe Brown  MDL Info Systems   JoeB at mdli.com
 > Dave Callendar NetGenics    dcallendar at netgenics.com
 > Graham Cameron EBI     cameron at ebi.ac.uk
 > Tim Clark  Millenium Pharma   clark at mpi.com
 > Mark Cortelyou Oxford Molecular Group  MCortelyou at oxmol.com
 > Sid Cowles  Incyte    scowles at incyte.com
 > Scott Dixon  SmithKline Beecham  J_Scott_Dixon at sbphrd.com
 > Rainer Fuchs Glaxo Wellcome   rf11522 at glaxowellcome.com
 > David George Bristol-Myers Squibb  georged at bms.com
 > Richard Giaimo MSI     rgiaimo at msi.com
 > Nat Goodman  Jackson Labs   nat at jax.org
 > Hsi-Chen Han Wyeth-Ayerst Research  hanh at war.wyeth.com
 > Kyle Hart  Pangea Systems   kylehart at pangeasystems.com
 > Sunny Hung  SmithKline Beecham  Sunny_T_Hung at sbphrd.com
 > Kathy Kelley SmithKline Beecham  Katherine_G_Kelley at sbphrd.com
 > Karl Konnerth Incyte    kkonnerth at incyte.com
 > Charlie Lawrence Sequana Therapeutics  chas at sequana.com
 > Michael Liebman Wyeth Ayerst Research  mliebman at vysis.com
 > Mark Lowenstein Object Management Group  mark at omg.org
 > Sherri Matis Zeneca Pharmaceuticals  Sherri.matis at phwilm.zeneca.com
 > Dave McAllister Silicon Graphics   davemc at sgi.com
 > Jeff McDowell Abbott Labs    jeffrey.McDowell at abbott.com
 > Mitchell Model Millenium Pharmaceuticals model at mpi.com
 > Brian Moldover Parke-Davis Pharma  moldovb at aa.wl.com
 > Juli Nash  Silicon Graphics   nash at sgi.com
 > Eric Neumann NetGenics    eneumann at netgenics.com
 > Jeri Okamura Genome Therapeutics  jeri.okamura at genomecorp.com
 > Mike Olson  Molecular Applications Group mao at mag.com
 > Jim Ostell  NCBI, NIH    ostell at ncbi.ulm.nih.gov
 > Chris Overton U. Penn.    coverton at cbil.humgen.upenn.edu
 > Sejal Patel  RW Johnson Pharma RI  spatel at prius.jnj.com
 > Michael Pear Molecular Simulations  mpear at msi.com
 > Randy Premont Resource 2000   rpremont at aol.com
 > Tana Reagan  Concept Five Techn  reagan at concept5.com
 > Kerry Reinertsen Millenium Pharma   reinertsen at mpi.com
 > John Sadler  Hewlett-Packard Bioscience John_Sadler at hp.com
 > David Samuel Compugen    david at cgen.com
 > Martin Schray NetGenics    mschray at netgenics.com
 > Mike Sievers Paracel    sievers at Paracel.com
 > Steve Smith  GCG/OMG    Steve.Smith at gcg.com
 > Jay Snoddy  Oak Ridge Nat'l Lab  SnoddyJ at ornl.gov
 > Geoff Speare OMG     geoff at omg.org
 > Lisa Staggenborg Chemical Abstracts Service lstaggenborg at cas.org
 > Val Tannen  UPenn Center for Bioinformatics val at cis.upenn.edu
 > Arthur Thomas Proteus Assoc.   ajt at proteus.com
 > Frank Wang  Proctor & Gamble   wang.ff at pg.com
 > Luquan Wang  Schering-Plough Research luquan.wang at spcorp.com
 > Art Williams SmithKline Beecham  Art_Williams at sbphrd.com
 > Jeff Wilson  Molecular Informatics  jaw at molinfo.com
 > Merrie Wise  SmithKline Beecham  Merrie_Wise at sbphrd.com
 > Peter Woollard MRC Human Genome Mapping Resource P.Woollard at HGMP.MRC.AC.UK
 > 
 > 
 > 

-- 
Timothy Slidel (PhD), Industry Support Programme,
European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL Outstation),
Wellcome Trust Genome Campus
Hinxton, Cambridge CB10 1SD, UK.

E-mail: slidel at ebi.ac.uk
URL: http://industry.ebi.ac.uk/~slidel
Tel: 44 (0)1223 494651
Fax: 44 (0)1223 494468




More information about the Bionews mailing list