IUBio Biosequences .. Software .. Molbio soft .. Network News .. FTP

SIGKDD Data Mining Innovation and Service Awards : Nominations sought

Osmar Zaiane zaiane at cs.ualberta.ca
Tue Apr 15 17:37:05 EST 2003

Subject: SIGKDD Data Mining Innovation and Service Awards : Nominations sought


ACM SIGKDD, the leading data mining society, invites your nominations for
1. SIGKDD Innovation Award, and 
2. SIGKDD Service Award.

SIGKDD Innovation Award

One SIGKDD Innovation Award will be given to one individual or
one group of collaborators who has made significant technical
innovations in the field of Data Mining and Knowledge Discovery that
have been transferred to practice in significant ways, or that have
significantly influenced direction of research and development in the

Previous SIGKDD Innovation Award winners were Rakesh Agrawal (IBM) in 2000 and Jerome Friedman 
(Stanford) in 2002.

SIGKDD Service Award

One SIGKDD Service Award will be given to one individual or one
group who has performed significant service to the field, that include
professional volunteer services in disseminating technical information
to the field, education, research funding, etc.

Previous SIGKDD Services Award winners were Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro (KDnuggets) in 2000, and 
Ramasamy (Sam) Uthurusamy (GM) in 2002.

Nomination Process

Each nomination should be co-sponsored by at least 3 people.  Email
co-sponsorship is accepted.  Nominations should include a 200-500 word
statement to justify the nomination, and other supporting materials.

At most one award will be given each year in each category.

Please send all materials by email by June 8, 2002 to Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro, 
gps at kdnuggets.com.

Important dates: 
1. Deadline for nominations: June 8, 2003.
2. Announcement of the Awards at ACM SIGKDD-2003 conference: August 24, 2003.

Exclusion:  People on the ACM SIGKDD Awards Committee (below) or SIGKDD Chairman
Won Kim are not eligible to be nominated.

ACM SIGKDD Awards Committee

Gregory Piatetsky-Shapiro (KDnuggets), Chair
Rakesh Agrawal (IBM)
Thomas Dietterich  (Oregon State University)
Jerome Friedman (Stanford)
Jiawei Han (UIUC)
Daryl Pregibon (AT&T)
Foster Provost (New York University)
Sam Uthurusamy (GM)

        (o o)              
Osmar R. ZAIANE, Ph.D.              | office: ATH 352 (Athabasca Hall)
Assistant Professor (Prof. Adjoint) | e-mail:  zaiane at cs.ualberta.ca
Department of Computing Science     | phone : 1-780 492 2860 
University of Alberta               | fax   : 1-780 492 1071 
Edmonton, Alberta, T6G 2E8 Canada   | http://www.cs.ualberta.ca/~zaiane/ 
(    )         (    )
 \  (           )  / 
  \_)           (_/

More information about the Comp-bio mailing list

Send comments to us at biosci-help [At] net.bio.net