[Computational-biology] CFP: ACM SAC Data Mining Track

Chandan K. Reddy via comp-bio%40net.bio.net (by reddy from cs.wayne.edu)
Mon Aug 11 19:10:33 EST 2008

ACM Symposium on Applied Computing
Special Track on Data Mining
Honolulu, Hawaii
March 8-12, 2009



We are pleased to solicit original, unpublished and novel papers for
publication and presentation in the 2009 ACM Symposium on Applied
Computing (SAC) Track on Data Mining. Articles describing novel ideas
and applications in all areas of data mining are of interest. This
year, emphasis and special considerations will be given to papers
addressing issues in scientific data exploration and mining. 2009 ACM
SAC Data Mining Track will be held at Honolulu, Hawaii, USA from March
8-12, 2009.

ACM SAC Data Mining has a successful history of accepting quality
papers and offering a stimulating platform for the exchange of ideas
and dissiminating cutting edge research to the community. The 2009 ACM
SAC Data Mining Track is the eighth such event in the 23 years of ACM
SAC tradition.

The ACM Symposium on Applied Computing is recognized as a primary
forum for applied computer scientists and application developers from
around the world to interact and present their work. SAC 2009 is
sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Applied Computing
(SIGAPP) and is presented in cooperation with other ACM Special
Interest Groups. For more information on ACM SAC 2009, please visit

Paper Registration and Submission Guidelines:

Authors must register their intent to submit a paper using the
conference management system, eCMS system at
http://sac.cs.iupui.edu/SAC2009/. Authors will use this system for
formal paper submission and other correspondence. All papers should
represent original and previously unpublished work that are currently
not under review in any conference or journal. Both basic and applied
research papers are welcome.

The submitted papers should follow the template found at
http://www.acm.org/conferences/sac/sac2009/downloads09.htm. Submitted
papers must not be more than 8 pages long in this template. Papers
that fail to comply with length limitations risk rejection. Although
the submitted version may be of 8 pages long, the final version cannot
be more that 5 pages long without any extra page fee. Authors of
accepted papers may purchase upto 3 extra pages (a total of 8 pages
per paper) at the rate of $80 (US) per page.

ACM SAC follows a double blind review process. Consequently, the
author(s) name(s) and address(s) must NOT appear in the body of the
submitted paper, and self-references should be in the third person.
This is to facilitate double blind review required by ACM. All
submitted papers must include the paper identification number provided
by the eCMS system when the paper is first registered. The number must
appear on the front page, above the title of the paper.

All enquiries and questions should be directed to the Track Chairs.
Additional details are available on the track home page at
http://database.cs.wayne.edu/sac2009/ and at the conference home page
at http://www.acm.org/conferences/sac/sac2009.

Paper Publication:

All papers will be fully refereed and undergo a blind review process
by at least three referees. The conference proceedings will be
published by ACM. Hence, all accepted papers should be submitted in
ACM 2-column camera-ready format for publication in the symposium
proceedings. The final version of the paper should not be more than 5
pages long.

Poster Publication of Selected Papers:

A set of selected papers will be accepted as poster papers by
invitation only and will be published as short papers in the symposium

Paper Submission Deadlines:

Registration of papers by authors: August 23, 2008
Submission of papers by authors: August 23, 2008
Notification of paper acceptance/rejection: October 11, 2008
Camera-ready copies of accepted papers: October 25, 2008

Track Chair:

Hasan Jamil
Department of Computer Science
Wayne State University
Email: jamil[at]cs.wayne.edu

Track Co-Chairs:

Chandan Reddy
Department of Computer Science
Wayne State University
E-mail: reddy[at]cs.wayne.edu

Osmar Zaiane
Department of Computer Science
University of Alberta
E-mail: zaiane[at]cs.ualberta.ca

Program Committee:
Niall M. Adams	 	Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Reda Alhajj	 		U of Calgary and Global U., Lebanon
Fabrizio Angiulli		University of Clabria, Italy
Annalisa Appice	 	Universita' degli Studi di Bari, Italy
Vijay Atluri	 	Rutgers University,United States
Elena Baralis	 	Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Ken Barker	 		University of Calgary, Canada
Francesco Bonchi		ISTI-C.N.R., Italy
Toon Calders	 	Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Michelangelo Ceci		University of Bari, Italy
Jose Alfredo F. Costa	Federal University, UFRN
Bruno Cremilleux		University of Caen, France
Alfredo Cuzzocrea		University of Calabria,Italy
Fosca Giannotti	 	KDD Lab. - Istituto ISTI, Italy
Le Gruenwald	 	University of Oklahoma ,United States
Sherri Harms	 	University of Nebraska at Kearney, United States
Jochen Hipp Daimler	AG, Germany
Tin Kam Ho	 		Bell Labs Research, United States
Wynne Hsu	 		National University of Singapore,Singapore
Hasan Jamil	 		Wayne State University, United States
Szymon Jaroszewicz	National Institute of Telecommunications, Poland
Kristian Kersting		Massachusetts Institute of Technologie, United States
Sang-Wook Kim	 	Hanyang University, Korea
Jiri Klema 	 		Czech Technical University, Czech Republic
Stefan Kramer		TU München,Germany
Marzena Kryszkiewicz	Warsaw University of Technology,Poland
Ulf Leser	 		Humboldt-Universitaet zu Berlin,Germany
Jinyan Li			Nanyang Technological University,Singapore
Xiaohui Liu	 		Brunel University, United Kingdom
Giuseppe Manco	 	ICAR-CNR, Italy
Rosa Meo	 		University of Torino, Italy
Taneli Mielikainen	Nokia, United States
Yasuhiko Morimoto		Hiroshima University, Japan
Shinichi Morishita	IBM Tokyo Research Laboratory,Japan
Miyuki Nakano		University of Tokyo,Japan
Rajesh Natarajan		Hexaware Technologies Limited, India
Jean-Pierre Norguet	Universite Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium
Salvatore Orlando		ISTI-CNR & Universit? Ca' Foscari di Venezia, Italy
Stefano Paraboschi	University of Bergamo, Italy
Clara Pizzuti	 	Italian National Research Council(CNR), Italy
Sanguthevar Rajasekaran	University of Connecticut, United States
Ralf Rantzau	 	IBM Silicon Valley Laboratory, United States
Jan Rauch	 		University of Economics, Prague,Czech Republic
Celine Robardet	 	INSA-LYON, France
Lorenza Saitta		Università di Torino,Italy
Daniel Sanchez	 	University of Granada, Spain
Maria-Luisa	 		Sapino, Universita di Torino
Yucel Saygin	 	Sabanci University, Turkey
Jouni K. Seppänen		Xtract, Finland
Balasubramaniam Shekar	Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore
Claudio Silvestri		University Statale di Milano, Italy
Simeon Simoff		University of Technology, Sydney,Australia
Mingjun Song	 	University of Connecticut, United States
Thanaruk Theeramunkong	Thammasat University, Thailand
Yannis Theodoridis	University of Piraeus, Greece
Franco Turini	 	Università di Pisa,Italy
Panos Vassiliadis		Univ. of Ioannina, Greece
Raymond Wong	 	University of New South Wales, Australia
Philip Yu	 		IBM, TJ Watson Research Center
Osmar Zaiane	 	University of Alberta, Canada
Kang Zhang	 		University of Texas at Dallas, United States
Zhi-Hua Zhou	 	Nanjing University, China

More information about the Comp-bio mailing list