NEW COMPUTER VIRUS!!!!
K.D. James
mbkdj at s-crim1.dl.ac.uk
Mon Nov 13 08:58:45 EST 1995
Matthias Vogel (Matthias.Vogel at klinik.uni-regensburg.de) wrote:
: > Subject: Virus on Internet (fwd)
: >
: > Just got this message from a friend.
: >
: > >>>If you receive an e-mail message with the subject line "GOOD TIMES", DO NOT
: > >>>read the message, DELETE it immediately. Please read the messages below.
: > >>>
: > >>>Some miscreant is sending e-mail under the title "good times" nation-wide.
: > >>>If you get anything like this, DON'T DOWN LOAD THE FILE! It has a virus
: > >>>that rewrites your hard drive, obliterating anything on it. Please be
: > >>>careful and forward this mail to anyone you care about--I have.
: > >>>
: > >>>WARNING!!!!!!!!!! INTERNET VIRUS
: > >>>The FCC released a warning last Wednesday concerning a matter of major
: > >>>importance to any regular user of the InterNet. Apparently, a new computer
: > >>>virus has been engineered by a user of America Online that is unparalleled
: > >>>in its destructive capability. Other, more well-known viruses such as
: > >>>Stoned, Airwolf, and Michaelangelo pale in comparision to the prospects of
[remainder snipped]
The 'good times virus' is of course a hoax. The only things propagated
across the 'net by these e-mails are more copies of themselves. There is a FAQ
on this hoax, although I don't have a URL for it handy. The best bet is probably to take a trip to the .net-abuse group and search the headers for 'good times'
if there's still anyone who needs convincing.
Of course this doesn't mean that it's not possible for someone to mail
a document containing some sort of macro bomb as an attachment. It's a good idea
to be aware of these possibilities.
Keith James
: Tel. 0941/944-6483
: Fax 0941/944-6402
: E-Mail: Matthias.Vogel at klinik.uni-regensburg.de
More information about the Methods
mailing list