Eileen Basker Memorial Prize

Michelle Chuk mchuk at mtholyoke.edu
Thu Mar 17 10:13:13 EST 1994

[ Article reposted from mhc.news.questions ]
[ Author was Michelle Chuk ]
[ Posted on 17 Mar 1994 15:07:55 GMT ]

The Eileen Basker Memorial Prize was established by the society for
Medical Anthropology to promote superior research in the area of Gender
and Health.  The award is made annually, in memory of Eileen Basker, to
scholars from any discipline or nation, for a finished work (book,
article, film, exceptional PhD thesis) produced within the preceding three
years.  Past winners include:  Emily Martin for The Woman in the Body, Joan
Jacobs Blumberg for Fasting Girls, Faye Ginsberg for Contested Lives: The
Abortion Debate in an American Community, Nancy Scheper-Hughes for Death
Without Weeping, Barbara Duden for The Woman Beneath the Skin, and Margret
Lock for Encounters with Aging: Mythologies of Menopause in Japan and
North America.

	Individuals muct be nominated for this award by a person who can
verify the impact of this particular work on the field.  Self nomination
is not permitted, and works submitted without an accompanying letter of
nomination cannot be considered.  The $1,000 will be given at the annual
business meeting of the Society for Medical Anthropology during the annual
meetings of the American Anthropological Association.  The award recipient
will be asked to attend the meeting to receive the award.

	Submit letter of nomination with three copies of the finished work
by Juliy 1, 1994 to Lynn M. Morgan, Chair, Eileen Basker Memorial Award,
Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Mount Holyoke College, South
Hadley, Massachusetts 01075.

More information about the Womenbio mailing list